district0x Weekly News and updates

• Given the Thanksgiving holiday, a rather short work week has come and pass. In light of this, I thought I’d instead take some time to write and reflect a bit more freely in place of a regularly scheduled update.

I’ve been working in the cryptocurrency space for three years now, and have been interested in the space for nearly twice as long. Naturally, the topic comes up with family and old friends at various get-togethers. Holidays are a unique opportunity for me to interface with older and younger generations at length. Seeing the proliferation of familiarity and interest in cryptocurrencies across the spectrum each successive year serves as a personal watermark for the industry’s progress.

2017 has been a historic year in the growth of cryptocurrency, and that’s reflected in the types of interactions that I’ve had this holiday weekend. The same basic analogies I’d use to explain bitcoin a year or two ago are no longer sufficient to answer the complex questions being asked. It’s no longer that some in the room have heard of bitcoin, but most. Some have even heard of Ethereum, and can name a token or two. The baseline understanding of what a digital currency is and how a decentralized network might maintain one is beginning to sink in. It’s no longer just “that bitcoin thing”.

And yet, at the very same time, when interfacing with my peers from grade school and university, it’s the exact opposite result that I find surprising. The general understanding of digital currency is not any more common or further along than the rest of the people in my life. Even among those with technical background in computer science, mathematics, or economics, cryptocurrency is still a very small niche that require zero effort to avoid.