Why Ethereum need to be ASIC resistant and adopt ProgPOW(or a different algo with a similar end goal)

• Ok, disclaimer first: i am an hobbyist GPU miner and i do it mainly to support the network(currently mining at a loss) but i can't say that i am entirely unbiased.This post is meant to be a collection of thoughts and opinions on why ETH needs to be ASIC resistant and why the adoption of a ProgPOW(or a similar algo if a technically superior alternative is proposed in the near future) is very desirable to keep the network secure and decentralized.

1. GPU manufacturers are publicly traded companies listed on major US stock exchanges and they have to abide to a much stricter code of conduct and regulatory requirements than Chinese HW manufacturers.They have to disclose a substantial amount of financial data and while they may not provide a granular break down of revenue streams,SKUs sold etc,especially related to products used to mine cryptocurrencies it's a level of transparency much higher.
    2. While GPU manufacturers do sell reference cards and a few 1st party offerings directly targeting consumers the vast majority of sales are conducted through a wide variety of OEMs, system integrators and well established sales channels.This creates a thriving and diverse ecosystem of hw vendors and reduces the chances of anti competitive/anti-consumer behavior limiting the opportunity for cartel like structures to form since there a lot of entities competing in the space.3)the % of total revenues represented by cryptocurrency mining related sales is not insignificant for AMD and Nvidia but still a lot less than for ASICS manufacturers since it's quite literally their only Raison d'être . ASICS manufacturers have every incentive to guarantee their continued existence .